Double-Stuffed Pop Tarts

Yesterday, I took on the task of making some flaky, buttery homemade pop tarts. Eagerly, I went to the store in the morning to purchase some last minute ingredients. I picked up some strawberry preserves for me, blueberry preserves for Bob, and orange juice for mimosas! I had not studied the recipe very much, so I was surprised to find out how many steps there were to complete!

I found this recipe from Cooking Classy (http://www.cookingclassy.com/2014/05/homemade-pop-tarts/) via Pinterest. Use this website to retrieve the recipe from the source. It seemed like a recipe that needed to be tried at least once….

Here’s my brief summary of the recipe:

1: Make the dough. I used my Cuisinart food processor to cut the cold butter into the flour mixture just until it resembled coarse meal. Then, I added 5 tbsp of cold water while pulsing the processor several times. This caused the dough to begin forming a ball. (You can also use a handheld pastry blender.) Pictured is the dough’s consistency when I transferred it to my floured surface to shape it.

011

2: Using my pastry mat, I divided the dough into two balls and shaped them into 5-inch discs. Cover in plastic wrap and chill for one hour.

012

Hint: I have a Martha Stewart Pastry Mat (sold at Macy’s) that is perfect for making pastries, biscuits, etc. It has helpful tips for working with dough, and it has inches and centimeter measurements along the border as well.

3: Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper. Remove one disc of dough from the fridge. Each 5-inch disc makes 4 tarts.  Begin rolling the dough into a 13 x 11 inch rectangle. This is recommended in the source’s recipe so you can then cut straight edges at 12 x 10 inches. Now, cut the dough in half horizontally. Then, make three vertical cuts every 3-inches. This will give you eight 5-inch by 3-inch rectangles.

014

4: After cutting the dough into the appropriate dimensions, move the bottom 4 pieces to the lined cookie sheet. Place 1 to 1 1/2 tbsp of preferred preserves onto the bottom piece of dough, and then cover with the top piece of dough. You can use your fingers or a fork to seal the tarts together. I used my fingers, followed by the fork. Inevitably, some preserves leaked out while cooking. Poke the top of each tart with a fork about 4 times.

**These pop tarts were double-stuffed. Use as little or as much preserves as you desire, but not so much that it can’t seal shut!

5: Repeat steps 3 & 4 with the other disc of dough.

6: Place the prepared pop tarts in the freezer. Allow to chill for at least 2 hours.

7: Bake the tarts in a 375 degree oven for 25-30 minutes. Keep an eye on them, so they don’t burn. I removed mine when they reached a golden brown color. Allow to cool on the pan for 5 minutes. Then, transfer to a cooling rack.

021

8: When the pop tarts are completely cooled, frost them in any color that appeals to you. Then, top with sprinkles!

**Frosting the pop tarts was the hardest part for me. The white icing was hard to see on the dough, so I added a few drops of red food coloring to make a pink. My double-stuffed tarts were causing the frosting to roll down the sides. Possibly, I needed thicker frosting. Either way, they turned out great! In the future, I may skip the frosting all together and enjoy the naked tarts.

023

9: Store the pop tarts in a sealed-container. Freeze the extras and re-toast them on a busy morning.

I hope some of you will take on this challenge of baking homemade pop tarts! If you do, let me know how it goes and good luck! Remember, you will need several hours to finish the project, so do it on a lazy day. I’d recommend getting some quality blueberry preserves because those tasted the best to us!

Until next time! -Kerry

 

One thought on “Double-Stuffed Pop Tarts

Leave a Reply

