Officially Kitchen aided

It’s official. My dad got me a KitchenAid for Christmas, and a friend got me an ice cream maker attachment! Besides studying for finals, I have been busy testing the waters with my fantastic new appliance. I never would have imagined receiving this gift, but it sure is nice to know my family knows what I like to do and how much I have wanted one of these bad boys. I was overnight babysitting the day it arrived, so I had to wait an entire night before I could open my gift!

The first experiment: Frozen Peppermint Cheesecake

I also made my first peppermint ice cream, but a disastrous event put a damper on the outcome of my ice cream. In the first attempt at making my custard for the dish, I must have had the burner on too hot. The yolk, milk, sugar mixture began to coagulate, but I left it on the heat for too long and cooked my eggs!!! The custard was a scrambled mess. My roommate, Subhada, and I attempted to strain the custard, but it was a lost cause. My second round for custard took forever because I was hesitant to raise the heat. I think we will just call this a learning experience. More delicious ice cream attempts to come!

I hope everyone is having a good holiday season! I cannot believe that Christmas is 14 days away! I have been busy with finals and a new job at the campus bookstore, but I promise there will be blogs this upcoming break!

Leave a Reply

